The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This platform enables users to search, monitor, and measure the research outputs of authors, departments, and institutions. Note: You will be prompted to login or to create an account with your institutional email. Altmetric can help build a picture of where research is being mentioned and cited in non-traditional academic sources and is particularly useful for gathering evidence of engagement and research impact. The data can support institutions in areas, such as funding, benchmarking, reputation management, recruitment and review, marketing and communications activity, and it may inform strategic planning.
It is a publisher of peer-reviewed scientific literature and contains more than 130 journals, more than 800 books, databases mainly in the fields of pharmacology and medicine, chemistry, and life sciences. Much of Bentham Science's journals are indexed by leading bibliographic databases.
See all books and magazines at the link.
- Access to electronic journals (can be downloaded in PDF format)
- Access to e-books (you can view the full text of books only online)
Produced collaboratively by EBSCO and CABI Publishing, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text life science journals with the bibliographic abstracting and indexing of CAB Abstracts. Global in scope, coverage includes subjects across the applied life sciences, from agriculture, the environment, and veterinary sciences, to applied economics, leisure/tourism, and nutrition.
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full-text review, risk of bias assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the export of data and references.
The interface is intuitive and suitable for students and experienced reviewers. Covidence can save time on repetitive review tasks, enabling faster review production and more time for analysis and interpretation.
Για πρόσβαση στην πλατφόρμα της Covidence θα πρέπει να δημιουργήσετε λογαριασμό. Περισσότερες πληροφορίες μπορείτε να βρείτε στον σύνδεσμο.
FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts with Full Text, produced by IFIS (International Food Science Information), is a leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. The database includes materials from journals, patents, standards and more. It covers all food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and veterinary medicine plus many other interdisciplinary subjects all related to food. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 1.5 million records with more than 90,000 records added annually.
Grants Index (1953-present)
Discover awarded grants from the leading government and private funding agencies from around the world. Search by Topic, Principal Investigator, Funding Agency and Grant Type.
• Multidisciplinary.
• Refine and analyze results to discover funding trends.
• Link to associated Web of Science Core Collection documents.
Regarded as the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, this database is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words. OED provides both present-day meanings and the history of individual words, and of the language -traced through quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. This dictionary was created more than 150 years ago, and it receives regular updates, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
Discover preprints for key research articles ahead of the formal publication in a journal from a range of international selected and evaluated preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities. Discover preprints connected to author profiles and peer reviewed literature in the Web of Science. Link directly to the preprint repositories to view each version of the preprint and download full text. Track citation activity for the preprint and link to the citation network in Web of Science.
A comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- Within dissertations and theses is a wealth of scholarship, yet it is often overlooked because most go unpublished. Uncover new ideas and innovations with more confidence and efficiency.
- Delivers a focused path for researchers by tapping into a global network of connected research.
ProQuest Research Companion is an intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and instructors to focus on teaching more complex research and writing principles.
Studies have shown that today's researchers are unequivocally overwhelmed with too much information and data—throughout all the stages of the research process. By combining learning modules and quick start evaluator tools into one resource, ProQuest Research Companion helps researchers in their quest to more effectively find, evaluate, and use information.
Developed by writing instructors and librarians, ProQuest Research Companion is comprised of ten Learning Modules and five interactive Tools—all designed to automate the key elements of the research process. The multimedia-based Learning Modules engage researchers to think more critically and creatively about their research, while powerful, interactive Tools help them navigate through the research process more efficiently and more effectively, focusing more time on the research that interests them most. The responsive design means it's adaptable to all devices—laptops, tablets, and smart phones.
A web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface. It retrieves literature, compound properties and chemical reaction data, and delivers expert-curated chemistry, medicinal chemistry, and pharmacology data from patents, journals, and books. Designed in consultation with chemists, Reaxys provides the right search options, access to relevant chemical data, literature, and unique data assessment tools. Coverage: 1772 to present.
The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary database which offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from biomedicine, business, engineering, health, law and literacy to management, mathematics, pharmacology, sciences, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
This database contains journals from a wide range of disciplines. SAGE publishes journals in subject areas, such as business, humanities, social sciences, health sciences, environmental sciences, materials science and engineering. You can browse the journal platform for the latest top downloaded articles, special issues, and full journal portfolios from the available disciplines. We have access to most SAGE journals, and the coverage is from 1997 until present.
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. It combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with data and linked scholarly content. Content derives from peer-reviewed journals, and ebooks in subject fields, such as life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Coverage: 1823 to present.
Springer's platform provides access to peer-reviewed journals, books, reference works, STM books, and protocols, covering content in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, business, management, and humanities.
We have access to most Springer ejournals, from 1997 and onwards. We can also access all their ebooks published from 2005 onwards, together with access to any available ebooks that were published between 1997 and 2004.
- This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. We have access to Proquest Disserations & Theses Index; Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1970), Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1970), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).
- This link opens in a new window
An online publishing platform of John Wiley & Sons, Inc., which provides access to Wiley journals, and ebooks subscribed to by the Library.